Truly, A Moanday!

Another day without the cam is like a day without sunshine! Which is what I hear it’s been like at the nest and the weather is probably interfering with BBC getting out to the cam site and seeing what is wrong. Patience, please, everyone. I am sure that BBC will get the cam back online as soon as it is humanly possible.

If you live in the area please do not act as stupidly as some have and approach the nest just to satisfy their morbid curiosity. Trespassing is still a crime and approaching an active nest is a federal offense. A word to the wise, eh??

TalonStrike

Image

Some maroon went to the nest??

 

Image

We have our eye on you!!

33 thoughts on “Truly, A Moanday!

  1. LyndaSue

    This is my second season on MN bound. When I joined, everyone filled me in on Harmon’s season and it was so rewarding. That is one

    of the things that would bring me here every day. The kindness, acceptance, the genune feeling of welcoming. The closeness of the

    viewers here is a big reason people go there every day. I see the posts above and I cant help but wonder…how many of the

    “original MNBound good folks” has turned to Talon for information that you can take to the bank. I have always felt that Talon has

    been the most informed person here. I, for one, would like to return to civil discourse and continue to remember that the nest

    (and the valiant efforts of the camera crew) is all about these beautiful eagles and their well-being. My husband used to live in

    MN and has told me about the weather. Let’s restrain ourselves from discussions or actions that don’t reflect who we are as a

    group – caring nature lovers. Just my .02…

    Reply
    1. Wendy

      Nice way to exploit your granddaughter’s picture all over the web, “Grandpa of the Year”! Do her parent’s know??? Wowza. And LyndaSue? This discussion has been going on LONG before you were here and continues to this day in PM’s, on site, FB and other places… The original peeps, who started this group, nurtured this group, laughed, cried, stressed out with this group and cheered LOUDLY in triumph with this group have abandoned the nest because of certain individuals, who I will not name, but they KNOW who they are. You are only seeing the tip of the iceberg. Period. But, of course, it will be blamed on everyone else except himself… I can guarantee you that almost NONE of the group you ‘heard about’ the caring wonderful MNBound group is here anymore. Nope. there is a reason.

      Reply
  2. PiggyP

    Thanks talon. Been gone and cam back to black screen. Best wishes to the nest and BBC! We take BBC for granted! Good luck to them. Look forward to any info you get to share. And keep sharing that adorable gbaby with us! ♥♥♥

    Reply
  3. ordy_fans

    I was reading the comments on the Facebook page. People are very concerned about the cam being down. I think it might help if you could stress in your blog that Central MN and now Norther and Southern too, has been under severe weather for at least ten days, flooding, high winds, constant rain. BBC and the elec co that helps with the nest are no doubt overwhelmed with paying customers trying to keep their businesses going, their freezers from thawing out, their driveways clear of fallen trees and in some cases even a roof over their heads. So many of the eagle viewers are far away and don’t realize what we have been going through here. Thanks

    Reply
  4. Carol

    Specifically, what does “went there” mean? Where is “there”? Those making condemnatory remarks, how is going “there” with binoculars and/or going “there” with camera w/zoom lens a crime? Were you present when these “crimes” occurred?

    Reply
  5. Ellen R.

    Thank you for the information. I only read one post where someone said they approached the nest. It was from a distance and they looked carefully with binoculars. I don’t think this would harm the eagles. I hope nobody else bothered them. I look forward to reading your blog and hope the cam is up soon.

    Reply
  6. fran

    hi talon, I didn’t even know the cam was down, been busy I guess. thanks for keeping us informed, your blog is the first thing I go to when I get on our computer. loved your father’s day salute. at least we know what they are doing now, trying to keep dry (not) and getting stronger so they can fly some day. thanks again, fran

    Reply
  7. clakra

    Electronics are amazing, just like your car, until it doesn’t work properly any more then it is a great big pain.

    Reply
  8. Shauna

    Since you can see the nest from the road that is not Breaking the law. One can have a Zoom Lens and sit on the HWY and check it out. Albeit not the safest thing to do when the Hwy is busy. I honestly dont think anyone of our eagle appreciating group would go all the way back in there to get that close when they can see through Binoculars or Camera Lens

    Reply
    1. Lisa

      Shauna obviously no one has been out there, if they would have they would know the flooding situation. No one trespassed no one broke any law. LOL funny how stories start. Now the big rumor will be someone went up to the nest. Well i hope they had a boat because that is the only way they are going to get even close to it. 🙂

      Reply
    2. Wendy

      Thank you Shauna! I know of NO ONE who would be that stupid in our group as to trespass a foot onto that property. We have too much RESPECT. As you know, I myself, have been to that site several times with binoculars and a zoom lens. It is spectacular! No one is disturbing this nest and I do NOT appreciate any one of the MNBound nest watchers being accused of trespassing. That is asinine.

      Reply
  9. Lisa Healy

    Thank you Talon!!! I am going through Dakota and Arky withdrawals!! The way it sounds from the news this morning, we will be getting more rain later today again:( 😦

    Reply
  10. Jo

    Arya said it well…some maroon went to the nest? DUH!!! Thanks Talon, for keep us posted as much as you can.

    Reply
      1. talonstrike Post author

        You should get your facts straight. Both Shauna and Sportster (Lisa) have admitted to the world they went to the nest site. And Lisa admitted to going on private property to see it even though she has now deleted that comment and is trying to change history. The Internet never forgets.

      2. Wendy

        OMG…. You really have issues, dear man… I doubt that either of them carried a boat or have chest waders. But you wouldn’t know that about the nest site because you don’t live here. We ALL implore you to stop the nonsense. Most of the original MNBound good folks have left you for a reason. And this is one. We’ve been with this nest longer than you and we ALL have the utmost respect for this nest. You are burning yourself down and don’t even know it. Sad, so sad.

      3. talonstrike Post author

        Did you happen to notice the cam was back on?? And there is no evidence of a flood?? And why are you here any way?? Except to make trouble?? The last PM you sent to me you called me all sorts of names and said you’d never say another word to me. And I am not your “dear man”. Please peddle your BS somewhere else.

      4. LyndaSue

        This is my second season on MN bound. When I joined, everyone filled me in on Harmon’s season and it was so rewarding. That is one of the things that would bring me here every day. The kindness, acceptance, the genuine feeling of welcoming. The closeness of the viewers here is a big reason people go there every day. I see the posts above and I cant help but wonder…how many of the original MNBound good folks” has turned to Talon for information that you can take to the bank. I have always felt that Talon has been the most informed person here. I, for one, would like to return to civil discourse and continue to remember that the nest
        (and the valiant efforts of the camera crew) is all about these beautiful eagles and their well-being. My husband used to live in MN and has told me about the weather. Let’s restrain ourselves from discussions or actions that don’t reflect who we are as a group – caring nature lovers. Just my .02…

      1. lisa

        ROFL just stop leave me out of your drama. I did not post on FB I trespassed. I merely said I was behind some trees across the river with binoculars. Oh my gosh just drop it I didn’t trespass. Its time to use this energy and pray for the eagle family that Arky and Dakota will make it to fledge and live a long and healthy life. I am done with this nonsense.

      2. talonstrike Post author

        Well, since it is impossible to be “behind some trees across the river” without trespassing on private property I would say that you are mistaken. And thank you for reposting that here.

  11. Elaine Black

    Thank you for your blog on this “Moanday” Talon. Thank you for mentioning the fact that trespassing is a crime. I saw a comment where someone mentioned they went there. I was not happy when I read that. Why do these people always think the rules do not apply to them? I would never do something that is against the owner of the land wishes, especially when it is breaking the law. Where is the common sense these days. Missing Mom, Dad, Arky and Dakota along with everyone else. Hope your week gets better Talon.

    Reply
    1. fran

      hi talon, I didn’t even know the cam was down, been busy I guess. thanks for keeping us informed, your blog is the first thing I go to when I get on our computer. loved your father’s day salute. at least we know what they are doing now, trying to keep dry (not) and getting stronger so they can fly some day. thanks again, fran

      Reply
    2. Wendy

      Nobody was AT the nest, Elaine. They were on the road with binoculars and zoom lens’. It is not even possible to get near the nest as that whole area is under water. Be careful what you believe.

      Reply
      1. talonstrike Post author

        You should be careful what you believe. The nest area was never under water. If it was the pond would be flooded out and we would see that from the cam when they pan.

      2. Wendy

        Have you gone for a walk out there? I guarantee you’ll need waders!!! We live here. It’s been a rough spring and early summer. Wet, wet, wet! Besides that, there is not ONE of us that would be so stupid as to POST that we trespassed to get to this nest even if we were stupid enough to try! Who’s the ‘maroon’ now? Nice way to use your grand daughter, BTW… ‘We’re watching you’ eagle? Hint: Your words are being ‘watched’ very closely by lots of fine eagle viewers. I warned you about this a couple of years ago… Remember? I’m sure you conveniently don’t and will come up with another Talontale, as they are now affectionately known as.

Leave a Reply

