Nest Update 7-8-14 – Where Were We….. Oh Yes…

Good Evening, Fellow Nestizens!!

When the sun rose on the nest today the cam was down and it stayed down until the early afternoon. When it did come back up Dakota was lying in the nest taking it easy and catching some rays. He pretty much spent the rest of the day hanging out there and on Arky’s branch doing his best to give the impression that he hadn’t fledged yet. I know I mentioned in Sunday’s blog that some of us thought he had fledged because we hadn’t heard him all day. Well, that was just an impression and it is entirely possible he hasn’t fledged yet. So we will keep watching and still cheer wildly when we see him fly from the nest for the first time. 

In the evening as he was hanging out on Arky’s branch Dakota all of a sudden turned around, went into a mantle, and began his juvie peal call at something close to him. The panner quickly looked around and lo and behold there was a sub-adult eagle intruder on the branch across from him under the mount perch. The intruder didn’t make any answer to Daki’s calls and in short order made it’s way to the nest. When it got there it nosed around a bit looking for a snack and settled on the turtle shell we all love so dearly. About this time, while still screaming fiercely at the intruder, Dakota bravely came storming onto the nest and scared the intruder away. Way to go, Dakota!! He then went to the mount perch on the trunk and gave us a look like “ Ha! Showed him, didn’t I??” He then went up to the high perch and we believe Mom and Dad both came home for the evening a little later. We did not see Arky at all today but we may have heard her as darkness fell up on the high perch with her brave little brother.

There was talk in the SS’s of whether or not bands were seen on the intruder. I have blown up numerous stills and watched the vid many times and I believe that it was not banded. From everything I have read on the net if it was a banded bird the bands should have been different colors and not both white or silvery in appearance. Also when blown up as far as possible there is no dimensionality to the light areas on its legs.  What I mean by this is it appears there is no extra bulk in the band area and the line of the legs is straight from the pantaloon feathers down to the feet. Since the scaps and vids are basically low resolution what I have observed is only my opinion and in no way conclusive. But also please consider that this bird looked very much like the one that was chased off the nest early this year and that no bands were seen then. And consider bands would mean that this bird was in a care facility of some kind, which I will grant could have happened, but is more unlikely than not. Unfortunately we will never know.

I would like to thank all of you who commented (except for one clueless maroon) on yesterdays blog both here and on Facebook. I have read them all and deeply appreciate all of the support and prayers you are sending my way. I hope I can keep being worthy of the love you have shown to me.

On to the vids and pics of the day!

MNBound Eagles ~ Our Dakota ~ Home On The Nest ~ Part 1 ~ July 8, 2014

http://youtu.be/w9Nq4nWTD70

MNBound Eagles ~ Juvie Bald Eagle Intruder ~ Chased Off By Dakota ~ July 8, 2014

http://youtu.be/vnu0ZEJEAJw

MN Bound Eagles 7-8-14 Our Dakota ~ Home On The Nest Part 2

http://youtu.be/OxiOv7xYppo

MN Bound Eagles 7-8-14 Our Dakota ~ Home On The Nest Part 3

http://youtu.be/YoxmW4V55CQ

And some pics of the day!

I wonder where Arky's flying today???

I wonder where Arky’s flying today???

Hey! Get offa my nest!!

Hey! Get offa my nest!!

We really need some new carpet!

We really need some new carpet!

Nobody up there, think I'll nap some more!

Nobody up there, think I’ll nap some more!

Hey this is a pretty nice pad!

Hey this is a pretty nice pad!

Sneakin' in?

Sneakin’ in?

I hope you all had a wonderful Tuesday! We’ll see you on the nest tomorrow!

TalonStrike

If you have been wondering where the mods went we are here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/for-the-love-of-nests-critters. Also click to join the MN Bound Chatters group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/MNBoundEagleViewers/. It is a closed group so just click and one of the admins will add you toot-suite. Thanks! 

7 thoughts on “Nest Update 7-8-14 – Where Were We….. Oh Yes…

  1. Audrey Olson

    Where is this chat room? And how come when I enter the Facebook website I can’t get it to work unless I click on the site on Talons first. What is the complete website name? This is my first year watching eagles. Love all you do & never mind the no do gooders as they will pay in the end. Revenge Is Mine, sayeth The Lord. Keep up the good work & just because we have a few rotten apples (and sour grape attitudes) it need not affect or infect those that are trying to & do help all of us. God’s Blessings to you. I pray for your recovering health.

    Reply
  2. TAB

    Talon – I have watched now for 3 years & until this year never commented on chat. I finally had to comment a week or so ago when foolish people were carrying on & getting everyone so upset. I agreed with your blog comment about not going near the nest. I also told one chatter to stop constantly going into panic mode & trying to upset everyone. I ended up getting attacked on chat for my comments, “accused” of being a mod – which I am not – but not sure why that would be a bad thing, then I was called a troll & something about riding a motorcycle — you came to my rescue with a short comment & I thank you for that. I love your blog & have enjoyed your mod chat site much better. I watch many cams for many creatures & sadly the ones that are just cams with no chat or ss but only daily updates seem to be the best. I enjoy reading the nice chat from those that understand that getting attached to the critters is fine – but nature needs to take its course – good or bad! a little intervention by the authorities may be needed but should not be expected. Any way thanks for the great blog & don’t let the real trolls get you down. Too many others need you & your knowledge! Thank you for being there for the rest of us & my best wishes for your health concerns.

    Reply
  3. Jo

    Hey Talon, I believe you’re right (I can just see you saying “of course I am LOL ) about the visitor not being banded. It looked to me like both of his legs had a white coloring just below the pantaloons which may just be part of his natural coloring. Usually, banding is done on one leg, not both. Thanks again for your blog which keeps me updated when I can’t be here! Great job cam gnomie, catching the intruder and the whole “Hey, YOU, get outa my nest” scene. Good to see ‘Kota has the protect my territory gene inside him, too. That was an awesome video…but then, of course, they all are! Thanks to all of you for your dedication. WOW, ‘Kota’s gonna have an awesome squee when he gets his adult voice isn’t he!

    Reply
  4. kjutila

    I agree completely. Throughout this season, the complainers have been seen here and on the chat room. They are going to ruin it for everybody. When one reads their syntax and way of verbalizing, it seems like most of the them are adolescents and looking for attention. Please ignore them and keep doing what you are doing. I find your blog invaluable!

    Reply
  5. Lois A Zillmer

    Talon, you are worthy of our love and prayers. I have learned so much about eagles by all the hard work and kindness shown here and on the nest site. When turkey’s show up and are mean I feel sorry for them. But, you, my friend, are respected and loved.

    Reply
    1. Beth Harsh

      I agree totally with Lois Zillmer’s comment. Just remember always how much we love and value your work and you. God Bless you and Thanks For All You Do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

