Personal Update – 28 July 14 – Trust No One – Part Deux

Good Evening, Fellow CottonwoodDwellers!!

For the 250th blog I have posted on the web I thought I would make this one all personal.

It used to be betrayers were keel-hauled, drawn and quartered, given the lash, put before the firing squad…. We have become a kindler and gentler people since those days so I will settle for exposing the betrayer here on the net.

Here, in her own words copied verbatim from Facebook with only a name removed to protect the innocent, is the evidence of her duplicity:


Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 11:55am PDT

btw no one at MNB knows me as gr8lakes but XXXXXXXXXXXXXX. I never told them there. Gracie knew when she asked me to mod, she asked me for my experience, everyone else was new at modding

Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 11:56am PDT

I said I would help out last year.. wasn’t sure I’d be back

Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 12:00pm PDT

I mod with gr8lakes, but use mibirder when I am not modding, gracie asked me to mod when I was in SWF chat visiting as mibirder, asked if I was gr8lakes I said yes, but said just leeave me as that for MNB.. didn’t want to confuse people… lol didn’t think I would be around long


Emphasis is mine. Spelling and punctuation are as written. I have obviously left out the other half of the conversation this was copied from as it is irrelevant to my purpose here today.

So, Pat Burke = gr8lakes = mibirder = ???? Who knows what other personas she is hiding behind on the net.

She will probably tell you that I made this up. She will say it’s all a lie. That’s OK, she can say whatever she wants but we have the file from Facebook and these are her words. You may draw whatever conclusions you want from them.

She says above that she “didn’t think I would be around long”. If I had known then what I know now she would never have been asked to mod again after modgate. Instead, she was asked back, and remained as a mod to spy on the mod team. She reported what was said by myself and the other mods to various people who were working to destroy our reputation and get us dismissed as mods from the MN Bound Eaglecam. Unfortunately, they succeeded.

The mods at most cams have a Facebook or other type of chat channel where they discuss what is happening on the nest and in the Social Stream/Chat away from the eyes of the chatters. Things are said in there that are not for publication anywhere else. Taken out of context the things that are said can be made to seem derogatory or unpleasant without the rest of the conversation to give it it’s true meaning. Unfortunately, it seems that she has been reporting just the juicy bits to the mod detractors to curry favor with them and help them slander the mods.

Confidential information, that she agreed to keep secret, was also discussed in the mod chat. She has betrayed those confidences as well.

If you follow multiple cams you will have noted that gr8lakes likes to install herself at unmoderated cams as the faux “eagle expert”. Perhaps this was her motivation for helping get the mods dismissed from MN Bound. We will never know as she will never admit it.

I am a trusting sort. It is the way I was raised. I always try to look for the good in people even if I only know them electronically. I couldn’t believe that someone we mods trusted and who was part of our team for so long would betray us the way mibirder/gr8lakes has. I also found it hard to believe that she would actively work against us to have the mods dismissed from MN Bound.

But I believe it now.

And I will trust no one from now on.

TalonStrike

PS: She may talk of suing me for slander. Unfortunately for her you can’t be sued for telling the truth. 

PPS: They may also claim other things about me. Please don’t believe them. We have seen how trustworthy they are. And as I have said in previous blogs and comments “Put up or Shut up”. The innuendo and gossip have gone far enough.

102 thoughts on “Personal Update – 28 July 14 – Trust No One – Part Deux

  1. SeaBee

    This whole thing strikes me as enormously sad. What used to be a convocation of kind humans celebrating the life and trials of eagles has sadly degenerated into adolescent-style bickering, narcissistic personality cults all around, and general calumny. Instead of contributing to this mess, we could focus on life lessons from the eagles: work hard, cherish life, and move on quickly from bad things without looking back.

    Reply
      1. bobbie nelson

        I wondered how the Nest had come under attack from what I saw as a Troll with unlimited energy to disrupt any conversation to bring it around to herself. I also wondered if she had a Bot talking to her, stroking her ego. Very passive aggressive and at times, not so passive. Watching the nest with the SS was not the happy experience it used to be.
        Now this also needs to be said. Maybe there was a point in the number of mods and the correct personality for one. In avoding a cult of personalities, by having the SS modless, it did create the worst of both worlds, a cult of one personality who was determined at every comment to have the last word.
        Talon- if it comes down to it with mgmt, I got your back.

  2. Tanya

    I love the way Mary sits and cuts down gr8 and LIsa? But yet posts over and over and over the same things. Well I want to ask her how Mars is because she really doesnt seem to be here on earth. “Beam me up Mary”

    Reply
    1. talonstrike Post author

      Hey sportster, your petticoats are showing. Is Tanya your middle name or just another one dreamed up to hide behind?? In case you didn’t know all of your connection info and your email is posted to me when you make a comment. It tells me you live in Minnesota, your ISP is Comcast and the email you used is brand new. So just give it a rest. Your comments here also prove that you are sportster.

      Reply
      1. mary

        God job, Talon!~ You’ve successfully exposed gr8’s favorite minion. Tanya/Lisa/sportsterlady/sportsterhdlady/sportsterlady2 are all one and the same! She’s not above using multiple names and e-mail addresses, either. She’s had a history all season of pouncing on unsuspecting chatters if they dared to disrespect her or gr8. Lately, though, she’s become very smarmy and Biblical. She posts lots of “praying”, “blesseds”, and “amens”. She got thoroughly thrashed by multiple chatters a few weeks ago for attacking a new poster, and immediately deleted her ustream account, and came back under name #2. She also replies to gr8 on ss by simply saying “message”…..meaning, “Meet me on cp so we can plan and refine our strategy to dominate and make ourselves look good.” She lives an hour and a half from the nest, rides a Harley, and has a pit bull. She also likes to say “osterich” a lot! (Her spelling). She’s not too hard to figure out.

      2. Mike Cecil

        I found this all very interesting. I was kicked off of the SWFEC site after someone used a personal email from me. I was speaking the truth about a fellow who had been arrested for child abuse. Turned out he was the boyfriend of one of the mods. Thing is she is the one that told the story to several people first. I did not speak until I did research and found it to be true. Many of the others even came to my defense with the mods but to no avail. I was very upset for not being allowed to participate when I did nothing wrong and did not discuss this other than in a PM.

  3. Tanya

    Is this where you all seemed to come to try to see who can out do the other one in writing horrible things about people? How old are all you people? Are you in highschool. Who is going to be the bigger person here and say enough is enough? This blog should of never went this far out of control. Is there really that many hateful people that they have to write such mean and horrible comments about people. Hurtful things. In the next days if the cam goes down i will give you heads up there has been many complaints about this blog mnbound has seen each and every one of your commnets and so has bbc. So when the cam goes down in the next couple of days you can thank yourselves and Talon. This is horrible you people what is wrong with you? This makes me sick to my stomach. I dont care what anyone has done they dont deserve this treatment. Grow up move on and act like adults.

    Reply
    1. talonstrike Post author

      I doubt they’ll turn off the cam but they may shut down the SS. At this point it would be a good thing. It was turned off about this time last year.

      Reply
      1. bobbywh

        Several months ago while I was on the MNBound SS a teacher with students stopped in to ask some questions about our eagle family. The bickering and fighting was at its zenith in that out of control group, and unfortunately she could not get the attention of anyone. During this time ShoebuttonNBG was there trying to bring some sanity to the chatters. I expressed my disappointment in MNBound because of their shortsightedness concerning school groups that would frequent the site during nesting season with no mods to attend them. I strongly suggested that she, ShoebuttonNBG, direct the teachers with students to the SS/Chat that had mods at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/for-the-love-of-nests-critters. For this, I was immediately banned never to be seen or heard from again on that site. Yet you, kind Sir, continue to post you blog on there every day. It seems that Tanya is missed informed as to just how pissed off they are at you. They seem to be madder at me. 😉

      2. Tanya

        There i sno reason mnbound should shut down SS. SS has been going very well. Everyone has been being very respectful to each other. I say they keep it up and running until the cam goes down. It has ran very well without mods and i hope that mnbound decides to go modless again next year. If people want mods they can go to the site you and the old mods have made.

      3. bobbie nelson

        One thing no one on the Troll’s side has mentioned and that is how far the viewing numbers dropped like stone once people who log in and see gr8’s rambling diatribe of useless information because she like to hear the sound of her own voice. Maybe some people need that kind of verification, having a statement being validated, Talon didn’t. He knew what he was talking about and didn’t have to use hammer techniques to get his point across.
        Talon- you’re good at math, give us a chart about viewship before and after as the days ran down. I think it’d be some interesting numbers.

  4. Kathy

    Last year was the first time I have ever watched a nest of any kind. I never even knew they existed. The only nest I watched was MN bound. I learned so MUCH from the Mods. I learned what a fledge was, what a branch meant. I learned what mantling meant. I learned that both parents take care of the fledglings (I also learned that word), that both parents care for and feed the babies. I learned a TON from the mods. I’ve never chatted, that was not my thing. I just watched and read what talonstrike and the other mods said. There was never any fighting. Only knowledgeable information. An exciting end to my first year watching an Eagle nest was in September when an adult Eagle sat on a low branch in my tree for about a half an hour and watched as I took a bunch of pictures of him! This year, I learned Nothing!………I was really bummed. I excepted the information on Eagles to continue. It did not! Most of what I read was fighting and bickering. I was very glad I found Talonstrikes blog because I was able to keep up with what was happening on the nest without all the drama. Thank You Talonstrike for all that you do and teaching me so much about Eagles!!!!! I really do hope you continue with the blog and can continue to educate us about theses Beautiful Eagles! Thank You so much!

    Reply
  5. Tina

    Wow! I guess I missed something on all of this. I just watch the cam and read the blog once in awhile to catch up on what I may have missed, but not on a daily basis. Talon, I love your blog, it is informative and witty and that is why I like to read it. I also love Rick and Elaine Black’s videos, and that is another reason why I read the blog. Everything is in one place so I don’t have to scroll back through hundreds of posts and comments to get to what I want to see. What I am not understanding is how anyone can judge anybody via a chat site? You don’t know them personally, you only know them through words on a screen. This is all so stupid and the best thing everyone can really do is just let the nasty comments roll of their backs like water on a duck. I am afraid if this crap don’t stop, BBC may just decide to pull the cam and then no one will be able to see this eagle family that everyone loves! I, for one. don’t want that to happen. Everyone needs to just grow up and go about their own business and not pay any heed to what a mod may or may not have said that everyone is calling nasty. I have never seen any of these chats, so I can’t say anything about them, but it this mod is being nasty to others, then she needs to be reported to the higher ups on the chat site so she can be removed. But in order to do that you need to have solid proof of how nasty this person is and actually copy and paste so you have the proof. Anyway, that is all I have to say. Love your blog, Talon. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  6. Helen

    I am in agreement with Dawn above (July 29th comment). We are privileged to be able to see “our” eagles from the time the eggs are laid, hatched, eaglets developed and then when they fledge and all that is in between. We learn so much from the parenting skills and what they go through during the time we are with them. We also learn a lot from Talon and the videos/pictures that are connected with his blog. I have enjoyed the social stream, particularly the funny comments made regarding the eagles/eaglets actions. I have learned a lot about eagles (and remember that the site is used by schools, as well) since I first became connected with this site because of Harmon’s initial troubles. Because I do not watch 24 hours a day, I guess I have missed out on some drama, which I would prefer is not there as it seems that we could be at risk of the privilege we have been given. Can we just move forward? We have so little time left with this year’s family!

    Reply
  7. MiasmaWind

    People with NPD like Gr8Lakes are the reason I rarely visit chat these days.
    They have a disease of negativity and are unable to make things pleasant for others.
    Everyone else must be just as miserable as they are. If not, then their world isn’t complete.
    Talon is a good person and has tolerated more than most people could.

    Reply
  8. mary

    Well, my apologies for my multiple posts saying the same thing! This is the first time I’ve been over here, and it’s obvious that my posting skills need some work. Really sorry about that.

    Reply
  9. mary

    Maybe third time’s a charm?? Thank you, Talon, for your blog, hard work, knowledge, and dedication! It’s so unfair that you were the object of a personal vendetta! I saw first-hand yesterday morning ten hate-filled and accusatory posts by “She-who-thinks-she-knows-it-all”. I’ve also been the recipient of her vicious attacks on more than one occasion when I’ve questioned her behavior. Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirder/mod wannabe/nest flitter/ad nauseum is nothing more than jealous, insecure, immature, manupalitive, and desperate. Her “knowledge” is highly suspect and questionable. Her sidekick, Lisa, is just as bad, but not very smart. They both stoop to making false accusations and use multiple aliases. I hope they both leave forever, and maybe find a nest on Mars that will welcome them. Again, Talon, thank you for all you do for us!

    Reply
  10. Sharon Knutson

    I dream of and have seen that our eagle nest has been a very dramatic and exciteing place to watch. It’s also been a place of love and serenity most of the time.
    Humans, just like and species including eagles, do disagree often. But then hopefully they move ahead.
    I appreciate you so very much Talon! I look forward to your videos and news letters every day! I love your dedication!
    Please continue your fantastic work!
    Thank You
    Sharonknutson

    Reply
  11. Mary

    At last! I’ve waited a long time for “fake lakes” to be found out and exposed for what she really is! Thank you, Talon! Lots of us live you and your blog.
    Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirdet/mod wannabe/nest flitter/ad nauseum has finally been exposed as the needy, jealous, and desperate person she is. Her sidekick, Lisa, is just as bad, but not very smart.
    Maybe there’s a nest on Mars that will welcome them.

    Reply
    1. asleepnomore

      Mary, that really wasn’t called for – you don’t know these people personally & personal attacks such as this is just a bit low, don’t you think?

      Reply
      1. Michelle

        Although anyone can post on this blog, it belongs to Talon and his supporters. I don’t know why you haters would want to read it or blog on it. What are you accomplishing for yourself or your friend? Pat should make her own blog and all you guys can say whatever you want there. She can also publish, in that blog, her own black and white proof of her innocence. We are a group of fairly like minded people here. We only wanted to know what happened last year, and we were shown documents that SHE wrote! And even then I don’t think anyone cared THAT much. Since then people have been coming forward with their own negative experiences with her. Why would people make it up? We don’t know Pat and we don’t know Talon. We have nothing to gain by relating our experiences. We’re not going to get any money out of the deal or anything else. I guess I don’t understand what you guys are so upset about. What’s going to happen that you and your friends are so defensive about? Anyway, I personally do not care! Talon always chatted with everyone in a very pleasant, informative manner and I appreciated that. If GR8 had chatted with me that way I would treat her with the same respect. She could be my neighbor for all I know or care. We simply wanted to know what happened, were shown proof of that, and then related some of our own experiences. NO ONE HAS ANYTHING TO GAIN! Again, make your own blog, and invite us to read it. It’s as ismple as that. Go ahead take your shot, I know you will.

      2. bobbie nelson

        I don’t think she went far enough. He/She preyed on the honesty of others. Name changing is one of the netiquette things that is frowned upon because it’s always used in a way to deceive others. People like that also think they’re smarter than everyone else, guess what, he/she wasn’t. There are tracks all over the place regarding original name and ISP and pretty sure, posting history.
        I watched her/his act for one day and didn’t come back. I watched him/her chide, ridicule and drive people away from the Nest when someone questioned his/her authority of the subject matter.
        She/He will find some nice nest someplace, not get all the attention he/she feels is worthy of her/him and start to turn people against one another. All these attributes are a sign of mental illness. Maybe she/he had a medication change or started snorting crack, all those signs are cries for help.
        Someone give the Troll some help so another nice place to visit on the net doesn’t have happen what happened to our little home in the cottonwoods.
        It’s damn embarrassing he/she is from Minnesota.
        MNmooonie

  12. Mary

    Talin, thanks for exposing “she-who-thinks-she-knows-all”. It’s about time!
    Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirder/mod wannabe/ nest flitter/ad nauseum is needy, jealous, and desperate. She attacks anyone who doesn’t think she’s wonderful, and her “knowledge” is highly suspect and questionable. She attacks anyone who questions her behavior, and uses sickeningly sweet (and obvious) means to gain support. Her sidekick, Lisa, is just as bad, but not very smart. Her behavior has earned a lot of disrespect for her, and rightfully so.
    Maybe there’s a nest on Mars that would welcome her!

    Reply
  13. Mary

    Will try again.
    It’s disgusting the way Talon has been attacked and vilified. Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirder/mod wannabe/nest flitter/ad nauseum is needy, jealous, and desperate. She is trying hard to impose herself on a number of nests (recently showed up at Sea Eagle) to advertise her self-importance. She is knowledgeable of neither eagles or people, and loves to attack anyone she perceives as a threat to her credibility. She has attacked me and others under both of her aliases, and then is sickeningly sweet right afterwards to other posters to gain sympathy. Her sidekick, Lisa, is just as bad, but not very smart, and also uses multiple names. They’re both so transparent that it’s not hard to figure out. When gr8lakes is confronted, other questionable posters immediately show up, using the identical grammar, spelling, and style. So obvious!
    I joined MNBound last year, and it was truly a season of “Peace and Harmony”! It was enjoyable and informative, and I wish it would have been the same this year! Thank you, Talon, for keeping us informed. I appreciate your blog, knowledge, dedication, and hard work! Would love to see you and the others back as Mods!
    Maybe there’s a nest on Mars or somewhere for “she-who-thinks-she-knows-it-all”.

    Reply
  14. Mary Anne Nelson

    I have done my own extensive research on gr8lakes. I am also amongst the growing list of people who have had their hand slapped for providing an answer to a fellow chatter even though I had documentation on my reply. I let it go at the time but it began my search of gr8lakes history. The complaints given across more than just the MNB nest leads me to believe that there is a definite problem with her . This was my 1st full year watching and my biggest worry now is for next nest season am I going to be running into her everywhere weather under gr8lakes or one of new identities? This very much concerns me! I’ve tried to give gr8lakes the benefit of the doubt but the evidence is mounting. This situation is very sad .Gr8lakes self esteem must be extremely low to be this self serving.

    Reply
  15. Mary

    Having trouble getting my post to go through.
    Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirder/mod wannabe/nest flitter/ad nauseum has finally been exposed for what she is: needy, jealous, desperate, and not that knowledgeable. Her sidekick, Lisa, is just as bad, but not too smart.
    Thank you, Talon, for exposing her! I appreciate your knowledge, dedication, and hard work, and I love your blog!
    Hopefully, gr8lakes can find a nest on Mars or somewhere that will welcome her!

    Reply
  16. PiggyP

    ♫ I want to fly like an eagle … to the the sea ♪ fly like an eagle … let my spirit carry me ♫
    I hope we can all enjoy the eagles and the wonderful animal kingdom that is before us with these great web cams. Let’s all soar together with a positive spirit and rise above our man-made faults. We can do it together. One big Eagle family. Supporting, caring, soaring. Thanks to talon and everyone who makes this experience great. Hoping we can move forward together so as not to lose this great opportunity. ❤

    Reply
  17. Marcy

    I don’t know about gr8lakes/mibirder and her dealings as a mod but I have witnessed her posts in chat rooms and FB pages that have been totally inappropriate. All that knowledge she claims to have would serve her better if she was not so rude and condescending. I also have been on the receiving end of her unkind remarks. Sorry, but it is her own behavior that leeds me to believe the worst from her.

    Reply
  18. Avalee

    What is so bad in this that you claim gr8lakes has said that would make you post something now from back in APRIL?
    ————————————————————————————-
    Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 11:55am PDT

    btw no one at MNB knows me as gr8lakes but XXXXXXXXXXXXXX. I never told them there. Gracie knew when she asked me to mod, she asked me for my experience, everyone else was new at modding

    Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 11:56am PDT

    I said I would help out last year.. wasn’t sure I’d be back

    Pat Burke Thursday, April 17, 2014 at 12:00pm PDT

    I mod with gr8lakes, but use mibirder when I am not modding, gracie asked me to mod when I was in SWF chat visiting as mibirder, asked if I was gr8lakes I said yes, but said just leeave me as that for MNB.. didn’t want to confuse people… lol didn’t think I would be around long

    Reply
      1. Avalee

        Thank you so much Talon for posting my comment from yesterday.

        LOL Talon when I read this the very first thought popped in my mind was this saying my late husband use to say all the time. I never ever thought I would have to use it again:

        ““A man convinced against his will; is of the same opinion still.”

        You still have not shown me anything so bad. I did read all of your comments, and re read it a few times. There is nothing there. No proof just words. I can say anything too. I am sorry you all feel this way about each other. Good thing you only see each other this way. Can you imagine if all had such HATE feelings toward someone that you really had contact with in the “Real World”? Now THAT would be hard to live with.

        Did you all know that all this bad talk, etc can affect your health? I watch all these LIVE Cams for one reason only. To see the animals, birds etc. to give me joy. People are just a side line. Nice but not my main purpose to watch. I found this link that may help people who are having any stress from all this: Hope it helps someone.
        http://alternative-medicine.yoexpert.com/mind-and-body/how-do-negative-emotions-affect-your-health-and-wh-376.html

      2. asleepnomore

        Talonstrike, your answer is a non-answer, in my opinion. I read your blog post in its entirety & you’ve said nothing there that answers this question. I’ve tried posting a comment on here at least 3 separate times, but it must be censored, too long, and/or lost in the ether, so I will try once more, in 3 shorter parts.

      3. asleepnomore

        Nope – tried posting my comment several times in different segments & it appears this blog has censors on…

  19. Elaine Black

    I went into SS early this morning and the very first 10 posts I saw was gr8lakes saying the most hateful things. I beg to differ with those that call her a great mod. That is not being a mod, that is being a very negative person. Three times, I asked, please stop, this was not the place for it. It continued. I have the PROOF. I copied and saved every single word!!

    This is Talon’s Blog!! Talon’s!! Which means, he may write whatever he wishes. You condemn him and call him names for what he does, what the heck is the difference???

    I was told and yes I have that copied as well, that I was duped!! Duped to me means being stupid into believing something that is not true. Well what I saw this morning, and not the first time by the way, the hateful truth was right there in print. SS is not the place to be angry, be angry on your “own blog” or personal messages but KEEP IT OUT OF SS.

    Reply
    1. Gloria Vincent Keeslar

      I guess I have been duped too. I do not know about the pain of modgate and I am thankful I don’t. I do know that being a mod does leave you open as a target at times. I have worked with this man twice on O cam and this year on the only moderated site for MNBound. I have seen a tremendous amount of abuse hurled his way in O cam last year and on the unmoderated chat this year. . Except for the one statement he owned up to below on this current blog thread; when after tremendous harassment all evening long after the loss of Popcorn to a raccoon he had finally had enough and did fire back one comment.but even that was not publicly in any ss. And I believe at that point even Dash had had enough and came into SS himself to not allow Talon to any longer stay the target.

      I so want to just enjoy the wildlife cams and the chatters who come to do that with me. Mods are needed in our society now for exactly the situations you mention above.

      Reply
      1. Avalee

        What is “modgate” is that a play on “Watergate”? First time I have ever read the word modgate. So funny

    2. sue

      As your in here bashing gr8 as she is trying to stand up for herself your also are very foolish. I watched you all go after her she was defending herself. Excuse me did you read the slanderous stuff he wrote? Only after the blog was posted did gr8 say anything. What part of the picture are you all missing here? What if it was you with a reputation? if you were standing up for your mod name that has integrity your words might be different. Do you think people should let this man slander their names. Oh watch your back you make him mad you will be next. Then you will be back here singing a different tune. Its obvious what is going on here.

      Reply
      1. Betty Ledwith

        I am glad the truth is out about gr8lakes. She used to tell me so many bad things about previous mod’s and I could reply on her. She started going on and on about 2 of the previous mod’s. I told her I did not want to have anything to do with a back stabber. She goes on line and tries to reply to everyone to look important. If I or some one else makes a reply first, she jumps right in and gets her 2 bits in. She does not like for any one else to reply due to jealousy. She wrote on my comment page right after I started watching these eagles that she is a mod. and knows the right answers. I wrote her back in very unkind words like who died and made her boss. Then she got word out for no one to respond to me. I wish I had kept all of that on my comment page so I could show all the proof. She came out with two other names this evening, other than mibirder and wish I had wrote them down. They were names I had never seen and went to their comment page. I noticed both had started this afternoon around the time a big argument was going on and on about her. She would get on under her false names and said nice things about her and tried to get every one to stop saying negative things. I replied to her on line stating she was gr8 and I was wise to her. A few minutes later that page was erased. Thank you so very much for exposing her for she is evil and devious.

      2. talonstrike Post author

        Tell you what SchweshCat, since I am such a bad person why don’t you start a “I Hate TalonStrike” website and post up all your proof there. I have taken the time and effort to make this blog, the least you can do is do the same.

      3. Elaine Black

        Sue, all I can offer you is to move on and let it go. She may call herself a mod, but she does not act like a mod. If all mods acted and said the hateful things she does, under many names, on many, many days. I would hope that USTREAM would do away with all mods. There are many people who have watched cams for years as well and can answer just as well. In fact, the best mod allows the chatters to answer and then offer a gentle correction if wrong. They moderate chat, not monopolize it.

      4. bobbie nelson

        Another one drinking the Kool-Aide. She/he doesn’t have legs to stand on. The Troll was disaster to the Nest. Explain why viewership dropped like a stone? She/he has to have others try to defend actions that are part of many copied ss logs. Or are you really mibirder again? Remember that one time we had words on ss? You totally ignored me after that. I was so disappointed. I’m not so Minnesota nice as others are, but I think you must’ve sensed that.

        BTY- it you’re not your your also very foolish- should also read- you’re (also is unnecessary) very foolish. See, doesn’t that read much nicer?
        Another one- Standing up for your mod? lmao. Does that mean we each get our own Mod? One more ~ slander their names….you mean all the names he/she used to deceive people or is this just another grammar problem?
        Go take a nap.
        MNmooonie
        Talon- will you be my Mod next year?

    3. rizzo

      I am not part of any SS chat, but do follow the MN Bound nest and several others. I thoroughly
      enjoy Talon’s blog, the videos and pictures. It highlights for our family what we are unable to watch during the day. The nests in Minnesota are of special interest since this is where we live.
      I follow the various nests on facebook and am happy updates are provided with opportunities to post comments in a neutral setting.

      The reason I do not participate in SS chats is the snarky attitudes by some chatters. It ruins the casual banter laced with humor that has developed between others. I have witnessed what I believe are a select few who provide misinformation and baiting. It appears this is done with the intent to provoke, upset or cause panic among those who may be new to the marvel of nature we share through the cams. Unfortunately, these individuals feel empowered by the generally anonymous identities they can hide behind.

      I would really hate to see the SS chats, Talon’s blog, the videos and pictures end. The cams are there for everyone to enjoy. We have grown through this experience, learning to accept natures beauty and the tough side that disappoints and saddens us. If only humans had the same natural instinct to teach and nurture we witness through the cams.

      Reply
    4. Mary

      Pat Burke/gr8lakes/mibirder/mod wannabe has gone to great lengths to try and instill herself as the “Queen Bee” on Mnbound to the point of pouncing on anyone who confronts her, making false accusations against them, bringing in her cronies (with equal multiple names) to back her up, and spewing hatred on a public site. She stays up all hours (so as not to miss anything that might be said about her), and is so grumpy from lack if sleep in the early mornings, that her worst behavior is regularly seen. Yesterday morning was the worst I have seen from ANYBODY, and she certainly showed her true colors! She is so jealous and paranoid that she has flitted around from nest to nest antagonizing and alienating people in her unsuccessful attempts to become the “Eagle Superstar”. Her dismal efforts have clearly backfired, and now she is grasping at straws. She has recruited not-too-bright supporters who can be equally hateful and rumor-mongering. Fortunately, they are so transparent that it’s obvious what’s been going on. Deleted accounts, coming back under another name, creating a fake account to post falsehoods for a brief minute and then deleting it, trying to garner sympathy and claiming to be here “only for the eagles” (while yammering on about motorcycles), literally “stalking” other posters , attempting to start rumors—-these infantile tactics are all part of their game.
      I joined Mnbound last year out of true interest, and it was so enjoyable! There was NONE of the nonsense that has been rampant this year, due to gr8lakes and her jealous and vicious personality. I know posters who have left in disgust because of her. I have been on the receiving end of her (and her sidekick’s) attacks because I dared to confront her nastiness. She posted for two days as mibirder, and attacked me for posting the same information others had stated. It took me awhile, but I figured out that gr8lakes and mibirder are one and the same. I visited Delta nest briefly two years ago, watched the end of the Harmon era, and watched most of Peace and Harmony. I always (and still do) enjoyed talon’s comments and humor, and I love his blog! I’d like to thank him for his knowledge and dedication, and hope to see him back at Mnbound. Also love Rick and Elaine’s vids—keep them coming! I don’t know much about the dismissal of mods or what transpired, but I know that we need them back! And, please, NO gr8lakes or her several aliases! She’s mad that she got “exposed” for who she really is, and has been attacking posters right and left. And then she’s sickeningly sweet and welcoming to others she perceives to be her supporters. It’s all just mean and vindictive, and I wish she would be permanently banned. Her “knowledge” is laughable (as well as her grammar and spelling). She posts so quickly that she leaves the basics in the dust.
      There are many good and honest and knowledgeable people on Mnbound. She and her multiple aliases and personalities aren’t among them.
      Thanks again to talon, dragonlainey, and others.

      Reply
      1. Avalee

        Quote: And then she’s sickeningly sweet and welcoming to others she perceives to be her supporters.

        From what I am reading here that is happening with the “Talon Followers”. Please show me where this other person is doing the same. I know you can copy chat because I have done it personal site I had to step away from and lost alot of the conversation. So please I really want to know in order to make my own judgment. So far all I read it words no proof.

      2. Avalee

        LOL I reread my post and the reason I had to step away was to use the bathroom. Did not want anyone to think I had to step away because I was upset or anything. And I said “it” instead of “is”. Would hate to have you think I dont know how to spell is. LOL Oh and I should have said this instead “I have done it on a personal site” NOT “I have done it personal site”.

    5. Avalee

      A QUTOE from Elaine Black: I went into SS early this morning and the very first 10 posts I saw was gr8lakes saying the most hateful things. I beg to differ with those that call her a great mod. That is not being a mod, that is being a very negative person. Three times, I asked, please stop, this was not the place for it. It continued. I have the PROOF. I copied and saved every single word!!

      WOW! Finally someone who has the “skinny” on gr8lakes. Please do share this so we can all be intelligibility informed. Dont worry about hurting her feelings, I am sure if she has any they have already been hurt.

      Reply
    6. bobbie nelson

      It’s remarkably easy to hit Control C and then Control V to copy an ENTIRE social stream conversation and forward it to, Mr Big. Mr Big is Ron Shera. He doesn’t read them all but someone in his office does.

      Reply
  20. sue

    Ok what does gr8 know that has talon and mods running so scared that he is trying to discredit her? Makes you wonder huh? Begging us all not to believe her??? Why are you all attacking her dont you have your own minds? I have known her for years and respect her, she has been around a lot longer than Talon. I have never seen her attack him or the other mods. Interesting. I tend not to attack people until I know the whole truth and hear both sides so you all really show your shallowness to believe this man that has attacked so many innocent people. From Mypete on down the line. Let he who hasn’t sinned cast the first stone. You all must be perfect huh?

    Reply
    1. talonstrike Post author

      Again with the innuendo and gossip. If you want to accuse me of something bring proof not just rumors you have heard from a bunch of delusional women. I have never attacked or abused anyone on the net. I did tell ONE chatter at the Ostrich cam to suck on it after she accused me of murder. Got proof of anything else?? Bring it. And mypete was a friend of mine. To sully her memory by using her to attack me is the lowest of the low. Got proof??? BRING IT!!!

      Reply
      1. sue

        How dare you you were not friends with Mypete. You made her life hell and so did a few others that I will not name. I don’t copy and paste and use private messages for attack. Is that all you have on gr8 that she was mibirder? Is that it? Wow must of really had to dig low to get that. Oh my Gold you really do hate women don’t you? I hope the women on here take offense to you saying that statement. The proof is in the pudding Talon. You have attacked others too. Why cant you be kind and considerate of everyone. Whether you like them or not? Why do you have to seek and destroy? What is your motive? Do you get a charge out of attacking women? It is obviiou8s you do.

    2. talonstrike Post author

      Is that you SchweshCat?? Chief rumormonger?? Architect of the mods firing? Again you have missed the point of the blog. mibirder was trusted by me and the other mods and she broke that trust almost from the beginning. Once again BRING PROOF of what you say I have done. Otherwise shut up.

      Reply
      1. sue

        Funny she tried to defend herself and you blocked her. What is up with that? You were afraid the real proof was coming out. Let her show her proof you called her out on it now let her. Lets see what this is all about. You brought this on. I think a wise choice for you would be an apology to her and a delete of this blog. Or are you going down with the ship?

      2. bobbie nelson

        oh boy, we have another winner here ~ mibirder was trusted by me and that means what? Talon, you have the patience of Saint. The “wrong woman syndrome” is really thick with this one.

  21. Dawn

    Talon and Mods,
    I’ve been watching MNB for 3 years now. I’m absolutely in love with these eagles. I have learned so much from you, the mods and other chatters. Please don’t stop what you all are doing because someone has decided to be a sour puss. I have lost a lot of respect for whatever she wants to call herself and will take her comments with a grain of salt. I won’t stop visiting this site because of her I will simply ignore her. I hope Talon that you and the mods will do that to. If you ignore someone long enough they eventually go away. Or maybe she won’t but I’m pretty good at ignoring.
    Thank you ALL so much for the hard work you all put in to answer questions, write blogs, take pictures and make videos. These are my daily highlights and I so look forward to this EVERY day. I love seeing our Eagles everyday. I feel so at peace when I watch them. My troubles seem to fade for a while when I watch them. They are truly a blessing and what we have in you, the mods and this web cam is a blessing to some of us more than you’ll ever know. So please don’t stop.

    Thank you and you all (chatters included) have a blessed day and continue enjoying our eagles. It’s an experience I enjoy with all you. Thank you for all the laughs you guys have given me. I look forward to the chatters conversations. Both funny and wise. We seem to figure out things together and that’s a wonderful thing.

    I could go on forever about how wonderful everyone is BUT I better get some work done.

    Love you ALL,

    Dawn

    Reply
  22. Wendy

    I had no idea until a few weeks ago any of this was going on. It is sad that there is such competition for recognition, by adults, no less. As a person who works 20 hrs a day, give or take, and particularly as the old lines of communication have broken down, I, too, rely of Talon’s “funny papers” to keep me informed and entertained. I do not miss some of the extremely intrusive people that domineered the chat last year and so all the more happy to have the Blog still with us.

    Reply
  23. TomD26

    Talon thanks so much for your blog. I had hoped the two chats would come together again, there is a lot of knowledge to be shared. I stopped visiting Love of Nest only because of frequent shockwave lockeups when I had both MNB and Love of nest opened at the same time. As far as chats go moderated or not doesn’t make a difference to me. My humor (or sarcasm some would say) gets me in trouble, that is why I turned down the invite to be a mod awhile back. I to have my “disagreements” with gr8 and another chatter who I will not name.. Fortunately they haven’t deterred me from enjoying my nest watching. I sure hope they won’t discourage you any further

    Reply
    1. PiggyP

      Talon, I hope you don’t mind if I reply to Tom here on your blog.

      Tom. I love your sense of humor. Hope you’ll always continue to chat!

      Reply
    2. kathleen walli

      Sarcasm has a harsh and cutting quality while irony is merely playful. Your humor is ironic, not sarcastic! You saw them at Squeeky’s grill having steak for lunch? Did they really not eat their veggies? Tell us more!

      Reply
  24. Peggy

    TalonStrike: here;s my two cents, for what it might be worth: Pat Burke = gr8lakes = mibirde must have a pretty dull life that she/he has to make DRAMA on an eagle cam web site and make trouble for the moderators. Good LORD! I use the cam and vids for relaxation, education, and just play entertainment! I don’t know all the details of what happened, nor do i want to. but i can have an opinion and in my humble opinion Pat Burke = gr8lakes = mibirde needs to get a real life/job/hobby and leave the rest of us alone!!! How she/he can turn a pleasant, relaxing, informative eagle cam page into drama that magnifies herself is just ridiculous and you, Talon and all of us watchers are affected by it. But you most of all and all the moderators. I will once again submit my unashamed and loyal support of your blog, and the moderators, and I will keep on reading and supporting your blogs, thoughts, pictures, videos you post here until the day it is not available anymore. I have been so blessed by this blog and the MN bound/BBC camera shots, the blogs, the vids, etc…I cannot even explain how they have just helped me relax, learn and enjoy bald eagles.

    Please know you have my support. i cannot say it enough: THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU AND PLEASE KEEP UP THE FANTASTIC WORK YOU DO!

    Reply
  25. Sandy Zhorela

    Since first discovering the MNB eagle nest 3 years ago, I have become enchanted with not only the eagles but all the mods who heightened that experience . Their knowledge top notch intertwined with patience & kindness gained my loyal respect hands down. As a purcher & chatter I feel betrayed, I can only imagine how it has affected you & every mod on For The Love of Nests. P. Burke is truly a wolf in sheeps clothing. Thank you for removing atleast 2 of her masks. The other day, I too observed MiBirder replying to another chatter with some strong not so pleasant replies. At the time, I was shocked at her tone & attitude, but it also raised a caution flag for me. She definitely lost my respect that day. Eventually people like her will self destruct. Talon you are, by far, a much better person than she can ever hope to be. You have the heart, talent & lnowledge that shines through in your blog (& in your G’babies eyes!)

    Reply
  26. lois

    Dear young lady what did she do wrong? She is a excellent mod. Is there a crime to using another name on SS? What did she say wrong? Did i miss something? I think it is horrible and very untrustworthy that someone takes someones private message and makes it public am i the only one here that sees the wrong here? Many of us old fuddy duddies read this blog we dont want to see this stuff on here. Guess i am just to old for this crap. Guess you all have a lot to learn on here. To me this man or female whoever writes this blog likes to bully people and shame people. I am thinking that is the reason mnbound got rid of them. Only proofing points that us old folks had our suspicions about.

    Reply
    1. Michelle

      I apologize, you must read the blog that was posted on July 8th. It will be evident then. I assumed you had read that part of the explanation of what is humorously, being called “modgate”.

      Reply
      1. Michelle

        Also, I “saw” her attack someone at around 5:30 this morning on the MNB SS. It was horribly rude and if you consider that a good Mod…..

      2. lois

        What is evident here is thtere is a person behind a blog that has some motive to discredit a very good mod. I am tired of this I am stopping my support to bbc i have a check on my table that was to be sent today. I will not support such things as bullying and the other folks at this home who were also waiting to send checks are stopping them also. Why BBC would allow this is beyond me. All you that post negative comments against this mod need to go take a good look in the mirror.

  27. Ellen

    I look forward to receiving your blog everyday, especially since the eaglets have fledged at MN Bound. I love your articulate captions and intelligent writing. You truly have a talent for expressing yourself and your love of animals shows through. These are attributes no one can every take away. I will continue to follow your blog.

    Reply
  28. Mari

    Lois has said it very well. I love your site, the pictures/videos and your writings. Fly above the clouds and continue to post. It provides enjoyment to so many of us!

    Reply
  29. Michelle

    I was just at the other SS, and gr8 was saying awful things to another person on there! I was blown away by her attack. I am amazed that M NB allows it. Anyway, by acting that way, her motivation is clear. Evidently she can’t control herself. She has no integrity. Sheesh!

    Reply
    1. lois

      And as you write that are you much better? Your attacking a very good mod. How else is anyone suppose to defend themselves? And when they do you all dont hesitiate to turn on them. Let her reputation speak for itself. And all you people in here that are in here making just awful comments. Mibirders/gr8 reputation and intergrety is much higher then what was stated here.

      Reply
      1. Betty Ledwith

        I must say people that are taking up for her never had gr8 makes negative comments to them. I replied to some one once about a question. She jumped all down me and stated my answer was wrong and she was the mod on ss. I replied back that she had better look up the answer on google for my reply was correct. I have had two mod’s from SW Fl make the comment that they gave up watching MnBound due to her nasty comments to them. So I suggest when SW comes back on line for them to do a pm and asked about her. I bet they tell you what I just stated. She wants to be the head moderator and tries to be the nice person on site like she is being so sweet. She just pretends to try to look like the important sweet person, obviously they have never been replied to wrong. Early in the mornings is when she is at her worse.

      1. sue

        Your the one spreading lies. Its obvious that people who don’t like you don’t read this blog anymore if they did they would be in here to defend. And you have also as a mod attacked people I have seen it with my own eyes Mr. Innocent my butt. Your a mod with a blog and are constantly attacking people who are you to judge. Wow. That Michelle really doesn’t understand her comment does she? Talon your a mod right? Your attacking people. What is wrong with peoples brains here? OMG they sure don’t think before they write comments. MODS don’t attack people as she is writing in a blog that a mod attacks everyone he doesn’t like. Wow!!!!

    2. Avalee

      Now why did you not copy and paste so we can all see it? Dont say it is because you did not think you should. You are posting other stuff about her just as bad, why not post the truth if you read it? Did you just find this place AFTER you read what she said? Well then that can excuse you from not being on the ball to enlighten us with the truth. See just saying so and so said this or posted this means nothing to me. I am from the old school. PROVE it please. If you really want to help others.

      Reply
    3. bobbie nelson

      What’s worse than the obvious is the Nest lost a lot of it hard won credibility in avian circles.
      At one point, it was so recognized, that groups of school children would visit and ask questions.
      It’s not about a power struggle with Talon, it was the credibility that was lost, not only for the Nest but for,IMO, MNBound and BroadBand. Their names were on the piece of crap after the Troll took over.
      And the other comment I wanted to make was, some people have to have constant attention, it doesn’t matter if the attention is good attention or negative. As long as it’s Attention.

      Reply
      1. bobbywh

        I agree with you on this front. MNBound and BBC have really let the people down. They were on par with Decorah until this. As I commented earlier to Talon, my concern for the schools and students is what got me banned from the site early on in the season. MNBound and BBC really needs to rethink this issue before it is too late.

  30. Lois A Zillmer

    I saw similar remarks this past week by Mibirder stating she was aka gr8lakes. I thought it was strange to have different names for different sites. I was even suspicious that someone was pretending to be gr8lakes. But, please, don’t let 1 person make you bitter. I’ve been down that road before. People who are false will eventually be found out, maybe not fast enough for us, but, that person will one day be judged. Hold your head up, don’t let anyone spoil things. What comes out of ones mouth reveals their heart and character. I know you feel betrayed, hurt and angry, but, don’t let this settle into your heart because you, not her, will suffer the ill effects. This is where your character will shine because you are not a deceitful person. No, I don’t know you except through your words and works. Your fine! You have talent, a loving, caring heart. How do I know? Because of TalonStrike! Don’t get sucked into her drama cause it’s a bottomless pit that will suck you dry. Keep doing what you’ve been doing. I will keep this on my list of prayers.

    Reply
  31. bobbywh

    Maybe a blog on “modgate” would be helpful. I was sort of here when the mods were let go for a time last year, but not completely sure as to what happened to cause that. I remember writing to MNBound requesting our mods back. It seems as though its been mentioned in this year’s blogs before or I’ve seen somewhere, so I would really like to know what happened on that front. Hopefully you can take some time to address that.

    Reply
    1. lois

      Talonstrike i read your blogs to catch up on the nest not to read about someones private conversation. You talk about trust and in the same breath share a persons private message with the world do you know the meaning of TRUST. I am 77 years old i dont have time to read this stuff. I want to know of the happenings on the nest. I am blind in one eye and partially blind in the other. It takes me a long time to read. I am disgusted. Mibirder or gr8 has always giving me and others information about the eagles. I just love her. You have done an injustice to mibirder/gr8 she has told people in mnbound that she is gr8. I will never ever try to read your blog again. You also have done an injustice to mnbound also. I feel sorry for those people you have attacked here. I finally had to say something when you went after one of the most trustworthy mods on the internet. Makes me wonder what makes you scared of mibirder? What secrets she may have that she may let out??? hmmmmm. And all you people that read this mibirder gr8 can be trusted dont let this change your opinion of her. How unfair you write this crap and people believe it and you have the gull to post such a horrible thing about the mod we all love. I hope people start reading between the lines about you. You better not try to attack me son i send allot of money into Broadband you dare attack me and i will stop!!!!

      Reply
      1. Michelle

        In case you missed it ma’am, Talon wasn’t posting his “opinion” he was posting things that gr8/mibirder “actually” stated. She hung her own self in this case. You must have missed it because of your eye problem. No disrespect intended.

      2. clakra

        When I started watching the nest last year I had no idea about mods or anything else. Just watched and listened. Enjoyed the interation between the chatterers, learned about and prayed for people who were going through hard times, rejoiced with the good things that happened to people. Your writings stood out, Talon, and I quickly learned that you were kind and patient. Would answer the same question 10 times a day and some of your answers would make me laugh. I was so looking forward to the nest this year, but soon I realized that all was different and after I found your blog I stopped watching altogether. I don’t know what happened or what was said on the private mod chat site but I do know this, NEVER, EVER, put anything on any website ANYWHERE that a person does not want the whole world to see. What motivates people to be mean and or’nary? I don’t know. Just want you to know that your writings are enjoyed, Talon, and I hope you will keep on writing for those of us who think you are special.

      3. clakra

        I can see you want to defend your friend, or relative or whatever relationship you have with this person, but what has giving away your old age pension got to do with it?

      4. bobbie nelson

        You can try to attack me instead. MNB knows me quite well. The Troll deceived a lot of viewers. Viewers that came to enjoy and some came to learn. Where is your information coming from? The Expert opinion that the Troll has? It doesn’t count if it comes from yourself. It’s called self-gratification.
        A lot of viewer were also quite disgusted but not for the reasons you state. They were disgusted at the conduct of the Expert Troll in all matters Eagle. Sounds like she/he isn’t welcome in many places In The Entire World that has an Eagles nest. That should tell ya something.

        I’m no spring chicken either. Quit whining. Quit threatening people with money. That’s very petty. Someone your age is expected to have a little better manners than you are displaying in your comments.
        Changing ID’s, screen names is just one of those thingies that honest people don’t do when they’re online. Simple. It’s a rule most of us abide by. Another hint would be seeing ` Check your CP, Check your CP, over and over again. CP is new lingo for Comment Page.

        Now go have your little temper tantrum, tear up the massive check you just finished writing out and if you don’t like what you’re reading, read something else. Sounds like time is not on your side, Old Dude.
        MNmooonie

Leave a Reply

